66 Years, 41 countries and still counting

Why read this?

Find the complete list of countries who have been invited to the Republic Day celebrations since 1950!


Since 1950, or every year on the day when the Constitution of India was adopted, India has been hosting head of the state or government of another country as the guest of honour for Republic Day celebrations in New Delhi.

The guest country is invited after a deliberation of strategic, economic and political interests of the country. It is a key decision and a lot of essential people are included in this decision. 66 years have gone by and United States of America will be the 41st country to be invited to India. While there are many countries that have been a part of this celebration twice or thrice, there are two countries that have been a part of this celebration for four times. Here is a list of countries that have been guest of honour in the Republic Day celebrations since 1950:

Year Guest Name Country
1950 President Sukarno Indonesia
1954 King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck Bhutan
1955 Gov General Malik Ghulam Muhammad Pakistan
1958 Marshall Ye Jianying China
1960 President Kliment Voroshilov Soviet Union
1961 Queen Elizabeth United Kingdom
1962 – –
1963 King Norodom Sihanouk Cambodia
1965 F & A Minister Rana Abdul Hamid Pakistan (2nd Time)
1968 Prime Minister Alexei Kosygin Soviet Union (2nd Time)
1968 President Josip Broz Tito Yugoslavia
1969 rime Minister Todor Zhivkov Bulgaria
1971 President Julius Nyerere Tanzania
1972 Prime Minister Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Mauritius
1973 President Mobutu Sese Seko Zaire
1974 President Josip Broz Tito Yugoslavia (2nd Time)
1974 Prime Minister Sirimavo Bandranaike Sri Lanka
1975 President Kenneth Kaunda Zambia
1976 Prime Minister Jacques Chirac France
1977 First Secretary Edward Gierek Poland
1978 President Patrick Hillery Ireland
1979 rime Minister Malcolm Fraser Australia
1980 President Valery Giscard d’Estaing France
1981 President Jose Lopez Portillo Mexico
1982 King Juan Carlos I Spain
1983 President Shehu Shagari Nigeria
1984 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan (2nd Time)
1985 President Raul Alfonsin Argentina
1986 Prime Minister Andreas Papandreou Greece
1987 President Alan Garcia Peru
1988 President Junius Jayewardene Sri Lanka (2nd Time)
1989 General Secretary Nguyen Van Linh Vietnam
1990 Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth Mauritius (2nd Time)
1991 President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom Maldives
1992 President Mario Soares Portugal
1993 Prime Minister John Major United Kingdom (2nd Time)
1994 Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong Singapore
1995 President Nelson Mandela South Africa
1996 President Fernando Henrique Cardoso Brazil
1997 Prime Minister Basdeo Panday Trinidad and Tobago
1998 President Jacques Chirac France (3rd Time)
1999 King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev Nepal
2000 President Olusegun Obasanjo Nigeria (2nd Time)
2001 President Abdelaziz Bouteflika Algeria
2002 President Cassam Uteem Mauritius (3rd Time)
2003 President Mohammed Khatami Iran
2004 President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva Brazil (2nd Time)
2005 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan (3rd Time)
2006 King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud Saudi Arabia
2007 President Vladimir Putin Russia (3rd Time)
2008 President Nicolas Sarkozy France (4th Time)
2009 President Nursultan Nazarbayev Kazakhstan
2010 President Lee Myung Bak SouthKorea
2011 President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono Indonesia (2nd Time)
2012 Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra Thailand
2013 King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck Bhutan (4th Time)
2014 Prime Minister Shinzo Abe Japan
2015 President Barack Obama United States of America